Drowning In The Desert

0 out of 5


This is David Murphy’s debut collection of poetry. These poems are balanced by a strong sense of people and place, lit up by connections between them, emotional and political. A sureness of rhythm permeates. Ideas and speculations come naturally and the storytelling gifts used by the author in his short stories and novels are utilised. Ghosts of everyday universal emotions abound; important questions that plague us all are asked here.

“A secret regret…and a motif of the drowned and the unsaved threads through the book like a nagging guilt.  This collection is a journey that asks to be taken.”  – John W Sexton


David Murphy’s most recent book Walking on Ripples
was published by the Liffey Press in 2014 – his first
work to feature non-fiction. Previous books include a
contemporary fantasy novella Bird of Prey (2011),
Arkon Chronicles (novella 2003) and the well received
novel Longevity City (2005), each of which was
published in the USA. Award-winning short fiction has
been published and translated worldwide including a
full collection – Lost Notes (2004) – and two chapbooks (Ireland & UK).
He was born in Cork but lives now in Dublin and Waterford.

Website: www.davidmurph.wordpress.com


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Drowning In The Desert”